Civil and Environmental Engineering

Our People

Washkewicz College is especially proud of its faculty and staff. Both are hands-on and accessible to students of every level. Washkewicz Faculty are well-renowned for their expertise and research excellence. Drawn from academic institutions across the world, as well as being professionals with years of real-world experience, the faculty offer a unique blend of theory and application.


Name & Title

Allena, Srinivas   Assistant Professor*

Structure (216) 687-9259
Duffy, Stephen   Professor* Structure (216) 687-3874
Dural, Nilufer   Associate Professor Environmental (216) 687-3912
Hung, Yung-Tse   Professor* Environmental (216) 687-2596
Jenkins, Jacqueline   Associate Professor* Transportation (216) 687-2190
Khan, Lutful   Chair & Associate Professor* Foundation (216) 687-2231
Kidando, Emmanuel   Assistant Professor* Transportation (216) 687-2533
Kim, Ung Tae (Ungtae Kim)   Associate Professor* Hydrology/Water Resources (216) 687-2599
Owusu-Danquah, Josiah   Assistant Professor* Structure (216) 687-2597

* graduate faculty


Diane Tupa, Department Secretary, (216) 687-2400

Advisory Committe

  • Jeff Filarski (CSU BCE 1987), PE, Secretary - Treasurer, Engineer for Lyndhurst & Moreland Hills, Engineer & Building Official for Village of Bentleyville, Chagrin Valley Engineering, Ltd.
  • Lita Laven, PE, Staff Engineer II, Northest Ohio Regional Sewer District
  • George Palko (CSU BCE 1988, CSU MBA 1993), PE, President, CEO, The Great Lakes Construction Company
  • Anthony Yacobucci (CSU BCE 1988, CSU MSCE 1992), Civil Vice President, Civil & Environmnetal Consultants, Inc.
  • Brian Corrigan, PE, Judge, Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas
  • Sandy Iwaszko (CSU BCE 1983, CSU MSCE 1989), PE, Senior Project Engineer, Osborne
  • Clyde Hadden (CSU BCE 1986), PE, PS, CFM, Transportation Division Director, CT Consultants, Inc.
  • Nicholas Carino, Concrete Technology Consultant
  • Richard Miller (CSU BCE 1982), PhD, PE, Professor, School of Advanced Structures, University of Cincinnati
  • Charles Nmai, PhD, PE, Head of Engineering, Master Builders Solutions Admixtures US, LLC. President of American Concrete Institute (2022-2023)
  • Ted Beltavski (CSU BCE 1982, CSU MSCE 1986), President & Chairman, R.E. Warner and Associates, Inc.
  • Rick Weinmann, Wienmann Enterprises
  • Michael Dever, MPA, Director, Cuyahoga County Public Works